Pattern Strips-redblue-bright-narrow.png

Our Story

I opened The English Center in 2015 so that high-quality classes for children and adults could be available in our community. After over 20 years of teaching at other language schools, I was inspired to start my own learning center to help people achieve their English goals. My teaching model includes small class sizes, enriching lessons for all levels, highly-qualified teachers, and a student-centered environment with complete English immersion.
 
Over the years, hundreds of adults and children have benefited from my school's unique philosophy and successful methods. As The English Center has grown, I have had the opportunity to team up with more teachers who share my vision. In 2018, I was fortunate to hire Blanka. She is highly qualified, very experienced, and we share a true passion for teaching. Later, in 2019, Gabriela joined our team. Her experience with children's playgroups has greatly benefited the school. We all work very well together with a constant focus on quality English lessons, and I feel grateful to have them on my team.
At The English Center, we provide an English-speaking environment not just for students but also for the community. We host monthly Networking Nights, where adults in the community can meet others and practice English in a casual and friendly environment. Additionally, we have a monthly book club that anyone can join for book discussions in English. Furthermore, we are proud to offer an extensive English library for both adults and children that is open to the public. 

Our Teachers

 
20200608_094707.jpg

Kelsey Binggeli-Mullaly

Founder & School Director

English instructor for both children and adults

​Education:

  • Master’s in Education in Curriculum and Instruction with a focus on TESOL for children Pre-Kindergarten to Grade 12

  • Bachelor of Arts in Spanish

  • CELTA - University of Cambridge (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults)

  • Certificate in Online English Language Teaching -  Cambridge Assessment

Kelsey is a native English speaker from Massachusetts, U.S.A. She started teaching in 1998 when she studied Early Childhood Education at the University of Massachusetts. She earned a B.A. in Spanish, and then in 2000 she obtained her CELTA (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults) from Cambridge University. She lived in Spain for numerous years teaching Business English, Cambridge Exam preparation, and general English to students of all ages. 

 

In 2005, Kelsey joined the Peace Corps and had the opportunity to relocate to China where she taught English at a university for two and a half years. In 2008, Kelsey returned to the United States where she taught English and Spanish in Washington DC while working on her Master’s in Education.

 

In 2011, Kelsey and her Swiss husband moved from the United States to Switzerland. They have two young boys and are raising them bilingually. 

 

Besides being a native English speaker, Kelsey also speaks German, Spanish, and basic Chinese. Having been a language student herself, Kelsey understands the importance of qualified teachers, diverse learning methods, and keeping the focus on the student’s needs. 

 

Throughout Kelsey’s extensive teaching career, she has had the pleasure of teaching in various businesses, community colleges, and both public and private schools. In addition, she has prepared

hundreds of students for Cambridge Exams, as well as IELTS and TOEFL. In 2015, Kelsey started The English Center in Langenthal so that children and adults in the community could access high-quality English lessons. Kelsey is proud of her student-focused school and she truly enjoys helping students of all ages and levels achieve their English goals. 

Read more: LinkedIn and XING 

Team Blanka.jpg

Blanka

English Instructor

 

Blanka started teaching in 2000 and has since taught all age groups and levels including general English, business and technical English, as well as preparation classes for PET, FCE, CAE, BEC, IELTS, and TOEFL. She holds a Master's degree in English Literatures and Languages ​​from the University of Berne in Switzerland and is a Ph.D. candidate in Anglophone Literary & Cultural Studies. 

Blanka loves English and world literature, learning languages, listening to music (from yodel to metal), and hiking in Emmental. Her favorite saying is “Learn as if you were to live forever”.

At The English Center, Blanka teaches mainly business and general English as well as Cambridge exam preparation courses. She says:

“I love teaching at The English Center because it provides me with lots of flexibility and independence in my teaching approach. We are an experienced teaching team and yet we are never stuck in a rut; we are constantly growing and exploring new teaching grounds, be it by attending teachers' conferences, learning about online teaching tools or finding and exchanging exciting new teaching materials.

Meeting a lot of different people, tailoring classes to their individual needs, helping them improve their language skills and teaching them how to acquire the mindset of a language learner - those are some of the main aspects of my teaching and it is what makes my work at The English Center always exciting and fresh.

I often don't think of myself as a language teacher but as a professional language student because, after all this time, I still have a lot to learn. Just like in the world of fitness, successful foreign language learning is a long-term commitment and a lifestyle - there are no shortcuts or easy solutions. "

Read more: LinkedIn and XING profile

IMG-20200608-WA0002.jpg

Gabriela

Playgroup Leader

After living abroad for many years, Gabriela and her husband officially became dual citizens in New Zealand and Switzerland.  They moved back to their homeland of Switzerland in 2015 with their young daughter. They both speak English fluently and are raising their daughter bilingually. They live in an old farmhouse in Madiswil and enjoy being outside and gardening. They even have some goats! 

Gabriela is not only a trained playgroup leader, but she is also a registered 'Tagesmutter' and has completed first aid training for children. She has worked in several playgroups in the area and joined The English Center in August 2019.  She has been a wonderful asset to our school and we feel very lucky to have her on our team!

 

"Als erstes möchte ich mich bei dir Bedanken, dass du immer wieder Video von den Kindern machst, die Kinder so liebevoll behandelst und ihnen viel englisch beibringst." - Eltern von Kind

“I like the very interesting and useful discussions with Blanka. I liked the new words I learned and I try to integrate them in the discussions and texts. For my needs, Blanka is a great teacher! Thank you very much!”  D.F.- B2/C1 level student

Some of our clients

Contact Us

Kontaktieren Sie uns für eine kostenlose Bewertung und besprechen Sie mit uns, was Sie lernen müssen. 

info@TheEnglishCenter.ch   

+41 79 906 77 65

Interested in:
 

Where are we

The English Center

Güterstrasse 21

4900 Langenthal

 

Donations

You can donate here to help underprivileged participants have an opportunity to learn English.

The English Center

Güterstrasse 21

4900 Langenthal

IBAN CH96 0900 0000 6160 1864 6

Please do not make payments here. Payment for courses is sent via email to each client. 

 
Pattern Strips-redblue-bright-narrow.png
Pattern Strips-redblue-bright-narrow.png
Pattern Strips-redblue-bright-narrow.png
 
bubble-blue-red-footer-3200px.png

The English Center

Güterstrasse 21, 4900 Langenthal

info@TheEnglishCenter.ch

+41 79 906 77 65

Facebook red.png
Instagram red.png
LinkedIn red.png
xing red.png

Pattern Strips-redblue-bright-narrow.png

Unsere Geschichte

Ich habe The English Center 2015 eröffnet, damit in unserer Gemeinde qualitativ hochwertige Kurse für Kinder und Erwachsene angeboten werden können. Nachdem ich über 20 Jahre lang an anderen Sprachschulen unterrichtet hatte, war ich inspiriert und motiviert, mein eigenes Lernzentrum zu gründen, um Menschen beim Erreichen ihrer Englisch-Ziele zu unterstützen.

 

Zu meinem Unterrichtsmodell gehören kleine Klassengrössen, bereichernde Unterrichtsstunden für alle Stufen, hochqualifizierte Kursleitende, eine teilnehmerbezogene Umgebung sowie Unterricht mit vollständigem Eintauchen in die englische Sprache. Im Laufe der Jahre haben Hunderte von Erwachsenen und Kindern von der einzigartigen Philosophie und den erfolgreichen Methoden meiner Schule profitiert. Da The English Center gewachsen ist, hatte ich die Gelegenheit, mit weiteren Kursleiterinnen und Lehrern zusammenzuarbeiten, die meine Vision teilen.

 

Im Jahr 2018 hatte ich das Glück, Blanka einzustellen. Sie ist hoch qualifiziert, sehr erfahren, und wir teilen eine echte Leidenschaft für das Unterrichten. Später, im Jahr 2019, trat Gabriela unserem Team bei. Ihre Erfahrung mit Kinderspielgruppen ist der Schule sehr zugute gekommen. Wir arbeiten alle sehr gut und eng zusammen, mit einem ständigen Fokus auf qualitativ hochwertigen Englischunterricht, und ich bin dankbar, ein so engagiertes, kompetentes und motiviertes Team zu haben.

Im The English Center bieten wir eine englischsprachige Umgebung nicht nur für die Kursteilnehmenden, sondern auch für die Gemeinde an. Wir veranstalten monatliche "Networking Nights", bei denen sich Erwachsene der Gemeinde treffen und in einer ungezwungenen und freundlichen Atmosphäre Englisch üben können.

 

Außerdem haben wir einen monatlichen Buchclub, dem jeder beitreten kann, um Diskussionen über Bücher auf Englisch zu führen. Darüber hinaus sind wir stolz darauf, eine umfangreiche, englische Bibliothek für Erwachsene und Kinder anzubieten zu können, die der Öffentlichkeit ebenfalls zugänglich ist.

 

Kelsey Binggeli

Gründerin und Schuldirektorin

Englisch-Lehrerin

Unsere Lehrerinnen 

 
20200608_094707.jpg

Kelsey Binggeli-Mullaly

Gründerin und Schuldirektorin

Englischlehrerin

 

Bildung:

  • Master's in Education in Curriculum und Instruction mit Schwerpunkt TESOL für Kinder vom Kindergarten bis zur 12. Kl.

  • Bachelor of Arts in Spanisch

  • CELTA - University of Cambridge (Zertifikat für den Englischunterricht für Erwachsene)

  • Zertifikat im Online-Englischunterricht - Cambridge Assessment

 

Kelsey ist englische Muttersprachlerin aus Massachusetts, U.S.A. Sie begann 1998 zu unterrichten, als sie Early Childhood Education an der University of Massachusetts studierte. Sie erwarb einen B.A. in Spanisch, und im Jahr 2000 erhielt sie ihr CELTA (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults) von der Universität Cambridge. Sie lebte zahlreiche Jahre in Spanien und unterrichtete dort Wirtschaftsenglisch, Cambridge-Prüfungsvorbereitung und allgemeines Englisch für Schüler aller Altersgruppen.

 

Im Jahr 2005 trat Kelsey dem Peace Corps bei und hatte die Gelegenheit, nach China umzuziehen, wo sie zweieinhalb Jahre lang an einer Universität Englisch unterrichtete. 2008 kehrte Kelsey in die Vereinigten Staaten zurück, wo sie in Washington DC Englisch und Spanisch unterrichtete, während sie an ihrem Master-Abschluss in Erziehungswissenschaften arbeitete.

 

Im Jahr 2011 zogen Kelsey und ihr Schweizer Ehemann von den Vereinigten Staaten in die Schweiz. Sie haben zwei kleine Jungen und ziehen sie zweisprachig auf.

 

Neben ihrer englischen Muttersprache spricht Kelsey auch Deutsch, Spanisch und hat Grundkenntnisse in Chinesisch. Da Kelsey selbst Sprachstudentin war, weiß sie, wie wichtig qualifizierte Lehrkräfte, verschiedene Lehr- und Lernmethoden und die Konzentration auf die Bedürfnisse der Studierenden sind.

 

Im Laufe ihrer umfangreichen Lehrtätigkeit hatte Kelsey das Vergnügen, in verschiedenen Unternehmen, an Community Colleges sowie an öffentlichen und privaten Schulen zu unterrichten.

Zudem hat sie Hunderte von Studenten für Cambridge-Prüfungen, sowie IELTS und TOEFL vorbereitet. Im Jahr 2015 gründete Kelsey The English Center in Langenthal, damit Kinder und Erwachsene in der Gemeinde Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertigem Englischunterricht haben. Kelsey ist stolz auf ihre schülerorientierte Schule, und es macht ihr wirklich Spass, Schülerinnen und Schülern aller Alters- und Niveaustufen zu helfen, ihre Englischziele zu erreichen.
 

Lesen Sie mehr : LinkedIn und XING 

 

Team Blanka.jpg

Blanka

Englischlehrerin

 

Blanka begann im Jahr 2000 mit dem Unterrichten und hat seitdem alle Altersgruppen und Niveaus unterrichtet, darunter allgemeines Englisch, Geschäftsenglisch und technisches Englisch sowie Vorbereitungskurse für PET, FCE, CAE, BEC, IELTS und TOEFL. Sie hat einen Master-Abschluss in Englischer Literatur und Sprache der Universität Bern in der Schweiz und ist Doktorandin in Anglophoner Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaften.

Blanka liebt englische und Weltliteratur, Sprachen lernen, Musik hören (von Jodeln bis Metal) und Wandern im Emmental.

Ihr Lieblingsspruch lautet: "Lerne, als ob du ewig leben würdest".

Am The English Center unterrichtet Blanka hauptsächlich Wirtschafts- und allgemeines Englisch sowie in Cambridge-Prüfungsvorbereitungskursen.

Sie sagt:

"Ich liebe das Unterrichten am The English Center, weil es mir viel Flexibilität und Unabhängigkeit in meinem Lehransatz bietet. Wir sind ein erfahrenes Lehrerteam, und dennoch bleiben wir nie in einem Alltagstrott stecken; wir wachsen ständig und erforschen neue Lehrgebiete, sei es durch die Teilnahme an Lehrerkonferenzen, das Erlernen von Online-Lehrmitteln oder das Finden und Austauschen von spannenden neuen Lehrmaterialien.

Viele verschiedene Menschen zu treffen, den Unterricht auf ihre individuellen Bedürfnisse zuzuschneiden, ihnen zu helfen, ihre Sprachkenntnisse zu verbessern und ihnen Wege aufzuzeigen, wie sie sich in eine Sprache eindenken und sie am besten lernen können.- das sind einige der Hauptaspekte meines Unterrichts, und das macht meine Arbeit im The English Center immer aufregend und frisch.

Ich sehe mich oft nicht als Sprachlehrerin, sondern eher als professionelle Sprachschülerin, da ich nach all dieser Zeit immer noch viel zu lernen habe. Genau wie in der Welt des Fitness’ ist erfolgreiches Fremdsprachenlernen eine langfristige Verpflichtung und ein Lebensstil - es gibt keine Abkürzungen oder einfache Lösungen. "

Lesen Sie mehr : LinkedIn und XING 

IMG-20200608-WA0002.jpg

Gabriella

Spielgruppenleiterin

 

Nachdem sie viele Jahre im Ausland gelebt hatten, wurden Gabriela und ihr Mann offiziell Doppelbürger von Neuseeland und der Schweiz.  Im Jahr 2015 zogen sie mit ihrer kleinen Tochter in ihre Heimat Schweiz zurück. Beide sprechen fliessend Englisch und ziehen ihre Tochter zweisprachig auf. Sie leben in einem alten Bauernhaus in Madiswil und geniessen es, draussen zu sein und im Garten zu arbeiten. Bald werden sie sogar ein paar Ziegen bekommen!

 

Gabriela ist nicht nur ausgebildete Spielgruppenleiterin, sondern auch registrierte "Tagesmutter" und hat eine Erste-Hilfe-Ausbildung für Kinder absolviert. Sie hat in mehreren Spielgruppen in der Gegend gearbeitet und ist seit August 2019 bei The English Center.  Sie ist eine wunderbare Bereicherung für unsere Schule, und wir sind sehr glücklich, sie in unserem Team zu haben!

 

"Als erstes möchte ich mich bei dir Bedanken, dass du immer wieder Video von den Kindern machst, die Kinder so liebevoll behandelst und ihnen viel englisch beibringst." - Eltern von Kind

“I like the very interesting and useful discussions with Blanka. I liked the new words I learned and I try to integrate them in the discussions and texts. For my needs, Blanka is a great teacher! Thank you very much!”  D.F.- B2/C1 level student

Unsere Kunden

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Kontaktieren Sie uns für eine kostenlose Bewertung und besprechen Sie mit uns, was Sie lernen müssen. 

info@TheEnglishCenter.ch   

+41 79 906 77 65

Interesse
 

Wo sind wir

The English Center

Güterstrasse 21

4900 Langenthal

 

Spenden

Sie können hier spenden, um unterprivilegierten Teilnehmern die Möglichkeit zu geben, Englisch zu lernen.

The English Center

Güterstrasse 21

4900 Langenthal

IBAN CH96 0900 0000 6160 1864 6

Bitte nehmen Sie hier keine Zahlungen vor. Zahlungen für Kurse werden per E-Mail an jeden Kunden gesendet. 

 
Pattern Strips-redblue-bright-narrow.png
Pattern Strips-redblue-bright-narrow.png
Pattern Strips-redblue-bright-narrow.png
 
bubble-blue-red-footer-3200px.png

The English Center

Güterstrasse 21, 4900 Langenthal

info@TheEnglishCenter.ch
+41 79 906 77 65

Facebook red.png
Instagram red.png
LinkedIn red.png
xing red.png